Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

September 12, 2024

The Honorable Pete Buttigieg Secretary U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE Washington, DC 20590 The Honorable Michael Whitaker Administrator Federal Aviation Administration 800 Independence Avenue SW Washington, DC 20591

Dear Secretary Buttigieg and Administrator Whitaker:

We write in support of the Aviation-Impacted Communities Alliance's (AICA) letter to Secretary Buttigieg dated July 18, 2024, with the subject line, "Communities seek sufficient representation for FAA committees and community feedback provisions in FAA Reauthorization Act of 2024." Airplane noise is an issue today in part because the FAA has continually failed to consider community input over the years. On the heels of the bipartisan passage of the FAA Reauthorization Act of 2024 ("Reauthorization"), we urge the FAA to ensure robust community participation throughout implementation of the Reauthorization's airplane noise provisions.

Members of airport-adjacent communities as far as 20 miles away from a major airport have long known what the FAA has only recently acknowledged: that aviation noise poses a far greater daily nuisance and health risk than originally anticipated. Studies show that aviation noise disrupts sleep, causes chronic stress, and leads to higher risk of cardiovascular disease, hypertension, and mental illness. These risks, combined with the FAA's past failures to recognize the effects of its aviation noise policies, underscore the importance of incorporating community feedback into policy conversations.

Section 792 of the Reauthorization forms an Aircraft Noise Advisory Committee (ANAC) to evaluate and offer changes to the FAA's current aviation noise policies. Importantly, the Reauthorization mandates that the ANAC include multiple representatives of airport-adjacent communities, in addition to industry professionals. In their letter, the AICA requests a minimum of four community representatives on the ANAC and proposes a handful of parameters for the FAA to consider during the selection process. We support these suggestions and urge the FAA to ensure a robust ratio of community representatives to industry professionals.

In addition, we encourage the FAA to prioritize formation of the ANAC in order to meet the statutory deadline of November 12, 2024. The FAA and local airport authorities receive thousands of noise complaints every month, making it clear that the agency's current noise policies are not working for airport-adjacent communities. It is essential that the FAA move quickly to establish the ANAC so that communities can experience relief sooner rather than later.

The Reauthorization includes various other provisions that require the FAA to consult with communities, including Section 786 requiring the FAA to update Part 150, Section 793 regarding the coordination of FAA's community engagement on noise issues, and Section 916 creating an

unmanned and autonomous flight advisory committee. We echo AICA's request that the FAA ensure vigorous community participation in its implementation of these statutes while considering factors such as the number of and accessibility of opportunities for community members to participate.

Members of the affected communities are the most qualified to testify to the realities and effectiveness of the FAA's aviation noise policies. Therefore, the FAA must do its part to solicit community feedback and ensure that it informs the agency's decisions and strategy to reduce aviation noise impacts.

Sincerely,

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Gerrold Nadler
Member of Congress

enold Haller

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin
Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Eleano H. Norton

Mike Quigley
Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Bud Shemm

Ed Case

Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin

Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick

Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley

Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen

Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky

Member of Congress

Young Kim

Member of Congress

Nikema Williams

Member of Congress

Mike Levin

Member of Congress

Katherine M. Clark

Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr Member of Congress

Judy Chu
Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress Anthony D'Esposito Member of Congress

Nick LaLota Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta

Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas

Member of Congress

Jason Crow

Member of Congress

Grace Meng

Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr.
Member of Congress